The process of transferring of information stored in DNA to mRNA through the synthesis of RNA over the template of DNA is called transcription.

Prokaryotic vs Eukaryotic Transcription
Prokaryotic Transcription:
1. Coupled transcription-translation is the rule.
2. Occurs in the cytoplasm.
3. A single RNA polymerase synthesises all the three three types of RNA (mRNA, tRNA, rRNA)
4. RNAs are released and processed in the cytoplasm.
5. Transcriptional unit has one or more genes (Polycistronic)
6. The 23S, 16S and 5S rRNAs are formed from a single primary transcript.
Eukaryotic Transcription:
1. Coupled transcription translation is not possible.
2. Occurs in the nucleus.
3. The RNA polymerases I, II and III synthesizes rRNA, mRNA and tRNA respectively.
4. RNAs are released and processes in the nucleus.
5. Transcriptional unit has only one gene (Monocistronic)
6. The 28S, 18S, 5.8S and 5S rRNAS are formed from two primary transcripts.

Previous Post Next Post