Spermatogenesis: the process of formation of sperms is called spermatogenesis. It occurs in the seminiferous tubules of the testes. The seminiferous tubules are lined by germinal epithelium. The germinal epithelium consists largely of cubuoid primary or primordial germ cells (PGCs) and contains certain tall somatic cells called sertoli cells (nurse cells). It includes formation of spermatids and formation of spermatozoa.
Spermiogenesis: The transformation of spermatids into spermatozoa is called spermiogenesis or spermateliosis.
Difference between Spermatogenesis and Spermiogenesis
1. It is the process of formation of haploid spermatozoa (sperms) from the undifferentiated diploid primodial germ cells of the testes.
2. It involves multiplication phase, growth phase, maturation phase and differentiation phase.
3. A spermatogonium produces four spermatozoa (sperms)
1. It is he process of transformation of haploid spermatids into spermatozoa (sperms).
2. It involves only differentiation phase, therefore, it is a part of spermatogenesis.
3. One spermatid develops into one spermatozooon (sperm).
Previous Post Next Post